Coping Mechanisms, #1

Author: Brianna

Do you ever think about just how much information is in your head? Sometimes I do, if I’m feeling a little overwhelmed by all the knowledge I have yet to acquire.

https://fossilosophy.files.wordpress.com/2013/07/47fe6-tired.jpg

It turns out I know a lot of stuff, and some of it’s even useful!

Examples:

I’m familiar with which metal pointy bits (studs) to put on the bottom of your horse’s shoes for traction when galloping and jumping cross-country. Road studs, grass tips, small bullets, big bullets, hex roads, semi-square medium spike? Different studs on front shoes and back shoes? Different studs inside and outside on the same shoe?

I know  how many feet are in a mile, and also who the lead singer of The Cars is. (Thanks for always quizzing me on those two things, Dad!)

I have memorized all three poems from Meredith Ann Pierce’s The Darkangel trilogy. I’m not sure why.

I can use Photoshop like…a person who has been messing with Photoshop since she was about 8 years old, which is actually pretty well.

I can still write in the basic Japanese alphabet, understand most things that are said to me, and communicate (with a good accent!) when ordering food or asking directions. Alas, I have always been and continue to be terrible at kanji.

Fact: you can start a fire with ice, if you polish it into a good enough lens.

I can read music in treble clef.

I’m conversant in the theory and practice of clicker training (operant conditioning) animals, especially dogs and horses.

I remember an awful lot of Greek, Egyptian, and Norse mythology.

Also, you know, I’ve got couple bits of information and ideas about evolution and paleontology.

 

Thus, my coping mechanism/ inspiration for the day: surely if I can fit all that business in my brain, I’ll be able to squish in whatever else needs squishing.

Leave a Reply

